Family

Posted: September 20, 2021 in All Things Trans
Tags: , ,

So if you’ve been following my blog for a while or are new to it. I have a rather rocky relationship with my family. I was born in Bakersfield, California and raised by mom and dad till my moms mental health turned for the worst when I was three and I took my first solo plane ride to Bozeman, Montana to stay the summer with my grandparents on my moms side Grandma Poppy and Granddaddy. The summer vacation turned into my grandparents getting legal guardianship of me when I was in 5th grade when my mom and dad got divorced. And every summer from then on in july or august I would see my dad and my mom was in and out of mental hospitals and she is in warmsprings mental hospital at the moment,pray for her. So with all of that I was raised by my Grandparents and in the past I made them look like the bad guys of my story till I went to theraphy for 4 years and learned the biggest lesson of my life- “You can’t change people, you can only change yourself.” I got from my therapist after months of internally battling with myself that I could change my grandparents 1950s sterotypes of a woman and a man and all the Marine Corp values they instilled in me. So my first 5 years of transitioning from female to male socially I blocked my family out everyone but my mom. Then I went through some major depression and an ex of mine reached out to my grandparents and they suprised visited me at work at walmart. Thankfully my boss was nice and said look like you are working and you can talk to them and I was rather harsh how I put them down with my wants not getting needed when I was younger and finally had words to explain why I felt like I always was a boy when I was younger but they where not listing to my gender transition fully becaIuse I was still pre everything and they wanted me to be 110% sure that if I medically transitioned its what I wanted for my body and mental health. So in November for 2017 I got my first dose of Tesosterone gel and started my medical transition. I decided to document my changes on youtube on a new channel under my new name Kaydian Anderson. With the push from my wife Cynthia, I legally changed my name to Kaydian Micheal Anderson. Then had an emergency hysterectomy in 2019 due to my depo shot aka progesterone ending and being on tesoterone gel wacked out my hormones thus needing to get a hysterectomy. I had larcospoic and still have my ovaries due to insurance issues. Then in October 2020 I had top surgery aka bilateral mysectomy with nipple graphs. That finished my medical transition fully for me. So I am on better talking terms with all my family now and send them photos of me and my wife for the holidays. 5 years later , now 10 years since I first came out to my grandparents as transgender,Im accepted as family again. Sure its still rough calling me my full name but they call me Kay for short and always working on pronouns. Im proud to have a loving family now that I never dreamed would come back. Plus my wifes family fully supports me as well. My wedding was lovely and my wifes best friend was our bestie for the bride and groom and we had christian and pagan roots added. I never dreamed in 2011 after I graduated highschool, bombed college and the Navy aka whole other story that with all my travels for 10 years I would find my aunthentic self and my family again and an extended one with my wife. So this year Im going back to college to become a dream job of mine when I was a kid to work with animals as a vet tech and have everyone behind me cheering me on for the best in my new adventures.

Comments
  1. This is so heartwarming to read. Not to say that it was easy! You have done a lot of hard work on yourself as well as educating others. Congratulations and best wishes!

Leave a comment