Question Seventeen: Does it undermine a trans man’s identity for a lesbian to say ‘I like butches and trans men’?

Posted: April 17, 2013 in All Things Trans, LGBTQ

a gentleman and a scholar

Another contentious one – and so early in the morning! Panel bios here.

 

Question Seventeen

I really appreciate this post, because I want to be the best trans ally I can be. I’ve always understood that as a cis woman, it was my responsibility to read & educate myself on trans issues & not expect the trans people around me to educate me. And I think this does have some merit, because cis people should treat trans people just like anyone else, & ask them the usual “what do you do” questions, not intrusive “what surgery have you had” or “how do you have sex” intrusive questions, which some of my straight cis-friends have actually asked my trans friends. 
My question is, does it undermine the gender identity of a trans person if for example, a lesbian says “I like butches & trans men”. Or are we all just…

View original post 459 more words

Leave a Reply

