Pride

Posted: April 17, 2013 in LGBTQ

The Naughty Corner of Social Niceties

There are some pretty fucked up things that happen in the world. Yesterday, Iran was hit by a massive earthquake. Yesterday, people running in a marathon in Boston found themselves running from bomb explosions.

It reminds me of the 9/11 attacks. I was teaching at the time, and was trying to explain to my students what had happened. These students had very limited English. They were away from home, away from family, and in my classroom. I couldn’t even explain what happened to myself, let alone to the students looking at me with fear in their eyes.

In the end, I talked to them about pride.

About how some people are so proud of their country, they will do anything for it. About how some people are so proud of their country, they’ll do anything to anyone who says or thinks that their country is no good. I drew pictures…

View original post 475 more words

Leave a Reply

