The use of trans bodies

Posted: March 26, 2013 in All Things Trans

a gentleman and a scholar

Or a postscript to ‘more about being a singer’.

 

I like to pride myself on being a bit of a smart cookie, but sometimes it can take a shockingly long time for an obvious point to finally make itself heard. I had a lightbulb moment during my coaching session this afternoon – and then felt idiotic for not having made the connection before. My body wasn’t engaging as it should – singing is an intensely physical process when it’s done right – and I turned, shamefaced to my teacher, and said, ‘it just has a tendency to be lazy.’

 

‘Who is this “it”?’ she replied.

 

I can’t believe it took me this long to articulate, even consciously acknowledge, and understand what this means for me as someone whose vocation demands a constant level of physical ease and awareness. I’m don’t see myself as a unified entity. There’s…

View original post 258 more words

Leave a Reply

