Genders, and sexes, and pronouns! Oh, my!

Posted: March 26, 2013 in All Things Trans

a gentleman and a scholar

Not a very exciting post, but a necessary one. And short too.

For any colleagues/writers/media types who need some clarification on which pronouns/descriptions to use:

 

The gender I was assigned at birth was female, which is all kinds of wrong. I came out at fifteen, have modified my body in various ways, and stay away from T for the sake of my career. It’s not half as scandalous as some people feel it ought to be.

For ease of use:

Utterly verboten: she, her, woman, girl, female, lesbian.

Getting closer: he, him, trans man.

Just about right: they, their, s/he, trans person, genderqueer, androgyne, androgynous, queer.

And a very cute term, which I’ve only just discovered: xx boy. I like that – it’s charming.

 

If you need any further information, feel free to drop me a line. And hurray for the constant development and adaptation of our…

View original post 2 more words

Leave a Reply

